March 31, 2010

The Other Room

The Other Room celebrates its second birthday!

Readers: Ian Davidson, Zoë Skoulding, Matthew Welton

Wednesday 7th April, 7.00 pm

The Old Abbey Inn, 61 Pencroft Way, Manchester, M15 6AY. Admission is free.

Ian Davidson's poetry is gathered in two collections from Shearsman, as well as chapbooks from Spectacular Diseases, West House Books and Oystercatcher. His critical volume Ideas of Space in Contemporary Poetry was published by Palgrave in 2007.

Zoë Skoulding is a poet, writer, musician, performer, and also a lecturer in creative writing. Since 1994 she has edited the poetry magazine Skald, more recently alongside co-editor Ian Davidson with whom she also writes collaboratively. Zoë is editor of Poetry Wales and currently holds an Arts and Humanities Research Council Fellowship (2007-2012) in Bangor's School of English, where she is researching poetry, gender and city space.

Matthew Welton received the Jerwood-Aldeburgh First Collection Prize for The Book of Matthew (Carcanet, 2003), which was a Guardian Book of the Year. He was a Hawthornden Fellow in 2004. Matthew collaborates regularly with the composer Larry Goves, with whom he was awarded a Jerwood Opera Writing Fellowship in 2008. His latest book is We Needed Coffee...

The Other Room 2009-10 Anthology will be available to purchase on the night and from the website thereafter featuring: Tim Atkins, Sean Bonney, Matt Dalby, Tina Darragh, Philip Davenport, Alex Davies, James Davies, Craig Dworkin, Allen Fisher, Michael Haslam, Rob Holloway, P. Inman, Frances Kruk, Holly Pester, Sophie Robinson, Lisa Samuels, Nick Thurston, Tony Trehy & Steve Waling.

Delicacies will be served.

No comments: